

Contact: Sue Bernard Development and College Relations Office 33 Edgemont Drive Presque Isle, ME 04769 Phone: (207) 768-2808 Fax: (207) 760-1101

sbernard@nmcc.edu

November 10, 2014

## Student Nurses Donate to Aroostook 'House of Comfort'

*Aroostook County* –Northern Maine Community College's Student Nurses' Association (SNA) made a donation for \$1000 to the Aroostook '*House of Comfort*', on October 15, 2014. This is the second donation that the Nurses' Association has made to this worthy cause.

The Aroostook '*House of Comfort*' will be a 6-bed hospice house that will provide quality, compassionate, palliative and end-of-life care for patients and their families. The facility will be built over the next four years and will provide support and care in a home-like environment. The goal is to ensure the patient has quality time in an atmosphere of peace, comfort, hope, and compassion.

"We are so grateful to this student group for being responsive to the needs of the community even when their first priority is completing their nursing education," said Rick Duncan, Chair of the 'House of Comfort'. "Their commitment and dedication to this fund raising effort are amazing."

The student nurses presented the check on the Northern Maine Community College campus to '*House of Comfort*' board member Mary Hunter.

NMCC nursing instructor and '*House of Comfort*' board member Janet Durgin expressed her pride in the student group, "Our nurses are a compassionate and hard working group who understand the need for such a facility in The County. 18% of Aroostook's population is 65 years and older so the demand for a hospice house is increasing. The students are involved in the community and want to make a positive difference."

-30-

(photo below)



Photo caption: Following a year of fundraising, NMCC's Student Nurses' Association presents a \$1000 donation to the Aroostook 'House of Comfort'. Pictured (front row from left) is SNA advisor Sue Dugal; student nurses: Becky Millett, association president; Janell St. Peter; Chelsea Quinn; Megan Davis; and Aroostook 'House of Comfort' board members Mary Hunter, and Darrylin Keenan.