

News Release

Contact: Karen Gonya Development and College Relations Office 33 Edgemont Drive Presque Isle, ME 04769 Phone: (207) 768-2809 Fax: (207) 760-1101

kgonya@nmcc.edu

## **NMCC Students Named President's Scholars**

*Aroostook County* - Forty-three Northern Maine Community College students were honored recently at the annual President's Scholar Luncheon on campus. The students earned the distinction of obtaining a perfect 4.0 during either, or both, of the Spring or Fall 2011 semesters at the College.

Those recognized as President's Scholars from Presque Isle were: Jeffery Beatham, electrical construction and maintenance; Michelle Bushey, Alix Curtain, Lisa Donovan, and Pamela Dooner, all in nursing; Timothy Doughty, plumbing and heating; Pamela Easler, medical office administration; Brian Hall and Austin Hole, both in accounting information systems; Karl Kornchuk, wind power technology; Karin Petrin and Christopher Walsh, both in business administration; and Tanya Rosten, liberal studies.

Those recognized from Caribou were: Marie Clark and Nicholas Rand, both in accounting information systems; David Cote, electrical construction and maintenance; and Shawn Morin, computer electronics.

The students being recognized from the greater Caribou area included: Christopher St. Peter of Connor Township, automotive collision repair; Christopher Castaway, computer electronics, and Myasia Williams, liberal studies, both of Limestone; and Frank Moody of Woodland, diesel hydraulics.

Other recognized from central Aroostook included: Jennifer M. Smith of Ashland, and Katlyn O'Leary of Easton, both in early childhood education; Joanne Young of Blaine, medical coding; Owen Thibault of Chapman, medical assisting; Melanie Davenport and Kimberly Levesque, both in medical office administration and Shelly Ouellette, early childhood education, all of Fort Fairfield; Gene Martin, business administration, and Valerie Perry and Jennifer D. Smith, both in nursing, all of Mapleton; Daniel Hitchcock of Mars Hill, automotive collision repair; and Valerie White of Washburn, accounting information systems.

Honored from southern Aroostook were: Noel Dame-Potter, medical coding, and Elizabeth Stratton, early childhood education, both of Hodgdon; Jeffrey Hobbs, residential construction, Kristin Hogan, nursing, and Midel Scott, liberal studies, all of Houlton; and Amy Brady of Patten, liberal studies.

May 11, 2012 NR12043 President's Scholars from the St. John Valley were: Jason Madore of Eagle Lake, plumbing and heating; Timothy Voisine of Fort Kent, electrical construction and maintenance; and Daniel Bernier of Frenchville, residential construction.

Also recognized was Naomi Kierstead of Plaster Rock, NB, medical office administration.

#####



Among the Northern Maine Community College students from the greater Presque Isle area who were recently recognized as President's Scholars were, sitting from left: Shelly Ouellette of Fort Fairfield, Austin Hole of Presque Isle, Frank Moody of Woodland, Kimberly Levesque of Fort Fairfield, Brian Hall of Presque Isle, and Alix Curtain of Presque Isle. Standing from left: Owen Thibault of Chapman, Gene Martin of Mapleton, Karin Petrin of Presque Isle, Joanne Young of Blaine, Pamela Easler of Presque Isle, Valerie White of Washburn, and Jennifer Smith of Mapleton.



Among the Northern Maine Community College students recognized as President's Scholars from greater Caribou area were, sitting from left: Myasia Williams of Limestone and Shawn Morin of Caribou. Standing, from left: Nicholas Rand and David Cote,both of Caribou.



Northern Maine Community College student Daniel Bernier of Frenchville (left) is congratulated by Frank Pytlak, his residential construction instructor, for being named a President's Scholar.



Among the Northern Maine Community College students from the southern Aroostook area who were recently recognized as President's Scholars were Jeffrey Hobbs and Noel Dame-Potter, both of Houlton.



Northern Maine Community College Naomi Kierstead of Plaster Rock, NB is congratulated by Dwight Clayton, chair of the College's business technology department, for being named a President's Scholar.