

News Release

Contact:
Karen Gonya
Development and
College Relations Office
33 Edgemont Drive
Presque Isle, ME 04769
Phone: (207) 768-2809

Fax: (207) 760-1101 kgonya@nmcc.edu

May 4, 2012 *NR12042*

Thirty NMCC students named to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

Aroostook County - Thirty Northern Maine Community College students who have been selected as outstanding campus leaders will be honored in the 2012 edition of *Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges*.

Campus nominating committees and editors of the annual directory have included the names of the students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success. The students join an elite group of students from more than 2,300 institutions of higher learning in all fifty states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations. Outstanding students have been honored in the annual directory since it was first published in 1934.

"All of us at NMCC are pleased to see these students recognized nationally for their academic achievements. It is most fulfilling when students who have never received such accolades are recognized in front of their friends and families. Inclusion in *Who's Who* provides a forum for these deserving students' accomplishments to be showcased along with others from across the country. It's an honor that will stay with these students forever as they continue the journey of both personal and professional success," said William Egeler, NMCC Dean of Students.

NMCC students from central Aroostook honored in this year's publication include: Jeffrey Beatham, Alix Curtain, Christopher Daly, Yusuf Ghodgeri, Michelle Longley, Jonathan Post, Owen Thibault and Krissy Williams, all of Presque Isle; Carissa DeLong of Blaine; Marie Clark, Shawn Morin and Amy St. Peter, all of Caribou; Shelly Ouellette of Fort Fairfield; Christopher Castaway of Limestone; Gene Martin of Mapleton; Bradley Therrien of New Sweden; Tia Crouse of Westfield; and Kimberly McAvoy of Woodland.

Other County honorees were: Eric Li, Madawaska; Sharon Grass, Bridgewater; Noel Dame-Potter, Jillian London, and Elizabeth Stratton, all of Hodgdon; Richard Caron and Jonathan McQuarrie, both of Houlton; and Amber Bennick of New Limerick.

Also honored were: Hannah Wurgler of Gray; Simon Tutlis of Greene; Nathan Woods of Rumford; and Scott Niemi of Dallas, TX.