

NR11052

News Release

Contact: Jason Parent Development and College Relations Office 33 Edgemont Drive Presque Isle, ME 04769 Phone: (207) 768-2808 Fax: (207) 760-1101

jparent@nmcc.edu

## Thirty-Two NMCC students named to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

*Aroostook County* - Thirty-two Northern Maine Community College students who have been selected as outstanding campus leaders will be honored in the 2011 edition of *Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges*.

Campus nominating committees and editors of the annual directory have included the names of the students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success. The students join an elite group of students from more than 2,300 institutions of higher learning in all fifty states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations. Outstanding students have been honored in the annual directory since it was first published in 1934.

"All of us at NMCC are pleased to see these students recognized nationally for their academic achievements. It is most fulfilling when students who have never received such accolades are recognized in front of their friends and families. Inclusion in *Who's Who* provides a forum for these deserving students' accomplishments to be showcased along with others from across the country. It's an honor that will stay with these students forever as they continue the journey of both personal and professional success," said William Egeler, NMCC Dean of Students.

NMCC students from central Aroostook honored in this year's publication include: Courtney Cyr, Desiree Dow, Mariah LeMieux-Lupien, Tamara Packard, Jason Parmelee, Bruce Ricker, Kimberly Rotge and Vanninnia Small, all of Presque Isle; Tanya Clark and Guthrey York of Ashland; Thaddeus Gorence and Lisa Plucker of Caribou; Steve Beaulieu, Portage; Gabriel Cheney, Castle Hill; Wendy Deeves, Washburn; Casmiro Fernandes, Limestone; Dustin Graham, Mapleton; Amanda McNeal, Woodland; Susan Rabe, Caswell; Susan Terrell, Blaine; and Roland Wortman, Fort Fairfield.

Other County honorees were: Lyse Dionne, Madawaska; Jessica Gal, Bridgewater; Teresa LaReaux, Haynesville; Jodi Tash, Hodgdon; Timothy Voisine, Fort Kent; and Kimberly Wright, New Limerick.

Also honored were: Matthew Melcher, Bingham; Anders Rinne, North Berwick; Jesse Peterson, Cordova, AK; Scott Long, Clair, NB; and John Parent, St Anne, NB.