

News Release

Contact:

Jason Parent

Development and

College Relations Office

33 Edgemont Drive

Presque Isle, ME 04769

Phone: (207) 768-2808

Fax: (207) 760-1101 jparent@nmcc.edu

May 16, 2011 *NR11061*

NMCC Students Named President's Scholars

Aroostook County - Sixty three Northern Maine Community College students were honored recently at the annual President's Scholar Luncheon on campus. The students earned the distinction of obtaining a perfect 4.0 during either, or both, of the Spring or Fall 2010 semesters at the College.

"Life takes you on all kinds of different journeys. It is hard to predict what the future will bring for each of you, but what you have gotten here is a strong foundation," NMCC President Tim Crowley told the students, many of whom were joined by family members or friends for the noon time event. "You are all very talented, committed and top students with bright futures, and I am very proud of your pursuit of excellence."

Those recognized as President's Scholars from Presque Isle were: Joseph Buckley, liberal studies; Michelle Bushey, liberal studies; Lisa Cadd, medical office administration; Alix Curtain, nursing; Christopher Daly, accounting information system; Lisa Donovan, liberal studies; Pamela Dooner, liberal studies; Christopher Everitt, computer aided drafting; Chelsey Fletcher, medical office administration; Brian Hall, accounting information system; Jonathan Post, nursing; Kenneth Prescott, computer electronics; Vanninnia Small, liberal studies; Krissy Williams, business administration; and Ericka Workman, medical office administration.

Being honored from Caribou were: Richard Caron, computer aided drafting; Marie Clark, accounting information system; Jessica Collins, medical coding; David Cote, electrical construction and maintenance; Danny Deprey, plumbing and heating; Thaddeus Gorence, accounting information system; Shawn Morin, computer electronics; Lisa Plucker, early childhood education; Jason Shanahan, electrical construction and maintenance; and Kevin Smith, electrical construction and maintenance.

Those being recognized from the greater Caribou area included: Christopher Castaway, computer electronics, and Casimiro Fernandes, electrical construction and maintenance, both of Limestone; Kjersti Gustafson, liberal studies, Bradley Therrien, computer aided drafting, and Matthew Turnbull, welding and metal fabrication, all of New Sweden; Wendy Deeves of Washburn, early childhood education; and Kevin Turcotte of Woodland, business administration.

Other students recognized from central Aroostook included: Dustin Oakes and Guthrey York, both of Ashland and both in the electrical construction and maintenance program; Sheri Anderson, medical coding, and Melanie Davenport, medical office administration, both of Fort Fairfield; Buddy LaCombe of Mapleton, computer electronics; James Rushinal of Masardis, wind power technology; Steve Beaulieu of Portage, plumbing and heating; and Tia Crouse of Westfield, accounting information system.

President's Scholars from northern Aroostook include: Timothy Voisine of Fort Kent, electrical construction and maintenance; Daniel Bernier of Frenchville, residential construction; Cindy Beaulieu, nursing, and Tricia Levesque, liberal studies, both of Grand Isle; Paul Beaulieu, automotive collision repair, Jamie Lizotte, precision metals manufacturing, and Benjamin Michaud, wind power technology, all of Madawaska.

Honored from southern Aroostook were: Denice DeLong, medical coding, and Sharon Grass, business administration, both of Bridgewater; Owen Thibault of Chapman, medical assisting; Teresa LeReaux of Haynesville, medical assisting; Noel Dame of Hodgdon, medical coding; Elizabeth Carter, early childhood education, Desiree Dow, nursing, and Kristin Hogan, liberal studies, all of Houlton; David Richardson of Ludlow, precision metals manufacturing; Justin Foran of Milo, electrical construction and maintenance; Kimberly Wright of New Limerick, medical office administration; John Corriveau of Patten, wind power technology; and Hal Cushman of Reed Plantation, automotive technology.

The students named President's Scholars from outside of Aroostook County were: Jesse Peterson of Cordova, AK, automotive collision repair; Scott Long of Clair, NB, automotive technology; and John Parent of St. Anne, NB, automotive technology.

#####



Among the Northern Maine Community College students from the greater Presque Isle area who were recently recognized as President's Scholars were, front from left: Steve Beaulieu of Portage, plumbing and heating; Dustin Oakes and Guthrey York, both of Ashland and both in the electrical construction and maintenance program; Sheri Anderson, medical coding, and Melanie Davenport, medical office administration, both of Fort Fairfield; Buddy LaCombe of Mapleton, computer electronics; and Joseph Buckley of Presque Isle, liberal studies. Standing, from left, from Presque Isle: Michelle Bushey, liberal studies; Alix Curtain, nursing; Christopher Daly, accounting information system; Lisa Donovan, liberal studies; Brian Hall, accounting information system; Jonathan Post, nursing; Kenneth Prescott, computer electronics; Vanninnia Small, liberal studies; Krissy Williams, business administration; Ericka Workman, medical office administration; followed by Tia Crouse of Westfield, accounting information system; and Jesse Peterson of Cordova, AK; automotive collision repair.



Among the Northern Maine Community
College students recognized as President's
Scholars from greater Caribou area were,
sitting from left: Matthew Turnbull of New
Sweden, welding metal fabrication; Wendy
Deeves of Washburn, early childhood
education; and Kevin Turcotte of Woodland,
business administration. Standing, from left,
all from Caribou: Richard Caron, computer
aided drafting; Jessica Collins, medical
coding; David Cote, electrical construction
and maintenance; Shawn Morin, computer
electronics; Thaddeus Gorence, accounting
information system; and Lisa Plucker, early
childhood education.



Northern Maine Community College students from the St. John Valley who were recently recognized as President's Scholars included, from left: Timothy Voisine of Fort Kent, electrical construction and maintenance; Daniel Bernier of Frenchville, residential construction; and Jamie Lizotte of Madawaska, precision metals manufacturing. NMCC's President Tim Crowley congratulates the students on their accomplishment.



Northern Maine Community College students from the southern Aroostook area who were recently recognized as President's Scholars included, sitting from left: Denice DeLong, medical coding, and Sharon Grass, business administration, both of Bridgewater; and Teresa LeReaux of Haynesville, medical assisting. Standing, from left: Noel Dame of Hodgdon, medical coding; Elizabeth Carter of Houlton, early childhood education; and Kimberly Wright of New Limerick, medical office administration.